Resources for the Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment based
Proactive and Personalised Primary Care of the Elderly

Lawton Scale

Purpose : Assessment of Instrumental Activities of Daily Living


Admin time :  15 min

User Friendly :  High

Administered by : Doctor or nurse


Content : The Lawton IADL scale contains eight items, with a summary score from 0 (low function) to 8 (high function).

Each ability measured by the scale relies on either cognitive or physical function, though all require some degree of both.


Author :  (Lawton MP, 1969)

Lawton Scale

245 KB

This Tool is used in the Assessment of Functioning

Back To : Assessment of Functioning

The Assessment of Functioning is one of 8 domains of the

 Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment (CGA)

Back To : Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment