top of page
Resources for the Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment based
Proactive and Personalised Primary Care of the Elderly


Ascertain Dementia 8 item Questionnaire

Purpose : Brief screening for early dementia

Admin time :  5-10 min

User Friendly :  High

Administered by : Healthcare worker or caregiver


Content : 8 questions answered yes or no, used to characterize six domains of cognitive and functional performance applicable to Alzheimer Disease and related dementias: memory, orientation, judgment & problem solving, community affairs, home & hobbies, and personal care.

The AD8® feedback provides descriptive anchors that guide the clinician in making appropriate ratings based on interview data and clinical judgment.


Author :  Galvin JE et al, 2005

Copyright : Washington University. Public Domain for clinical use


Permission Statement

Washington University grants permission to use and reproduce The AD8: The Washington University Dementia Screening Test,
also referred to as the “Ascertain Dementia 8-item Informant Questionnaire (AD8)," without modification or editing of any kind
solely for (1) clinical care purposes, defined as a physician’s use of the AD8 for non-research patient care services, and (2) non-
commercial research, defined as investigator-initiated clinical research that is not funded or supported, in whole or in part, by
any for-profit entity (collectively, the “Purpose”).

Individuals or corporations intending to use the AD8 for any use other than the Purpose stated above, including clinical trial or commercial purposes, must obtain WU’s prior written permission,granted by an authorized representative of WU. To obtain permission, visit and refer to the AD8 Permission & Licensing Policy section


This Tool is used in Dementia

Back To : Dementia

dependent dementia woman old age alzheimer's retirement home care for the elderly

Dementia is one of 4 sub-domains of the  

Psychological Assessment

Back To : Psychological Assessment

pensive elderly old man_edited_edited.png

The Psychological Assessment is one of 8 domains of the

Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment (CGA)

Back To : Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment

bottom of page